Carlo Scarpa

A multifaceted figure of made in Italy design, venetian designer Carlo Scarpa (Venice, 1906 - Sendai, Japan, 1978) made small and large-scale projects, ranging from furnishing objects to architectural works — among the most significant is the restoration of the Castelvecchio Museum, Verona, in 1957 — that share simple and elegant forms evoking Scarpa’s interest in the Japanese culture. For Scarpa, drawing was the most important step of any of his creations: for this reason he made numerous sketches that he constantly re-elaborated, insisting on details by treating them as an indispensable element for the final result. Among his most important collaborations is the one with Venini, where he became artistic director from 1934 to 1947, and for which he designed a large production of objects that stand out for their clean lines and quality of craftsmanship, such as the "Poliedri" chandeliers or the sophisticated wrought glass frames. The Olivetti Prize, which he won in 1956, celebrated his exhibition projects, which began in 1948 with the staging of the Paul Klee exhibition at the Venice Biennale, marking the start of a thriving collaboration between Scarpa and the art event. 

Designer items

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle

Nendo Design

Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster