Carlo Mollino

Alongside Gio Ponti and Ettore Sottsass, Carlo Mollino (Turin, 1905 - Turin, 1973) is the Italian designer of the 20th century currently most followed by collectors on a world scale. After a first phase dedicated to architecture, the discipline in which he graduated in 1931 at the Polytechnic of Turin, in the 40s Mollino started to create interior and furniture projects, made unique by the fact they were largely created in limited editions or intended for private clients, therefore tailor-made, as in the case of Mollino's most published interior projects in Turin, including the Minola house, the Orengo house or the Dancing Lutrario. Out of the schemes and not comparable to defined currents, in general, the furniture signed by Mollino combines the use of cold-bent plywood with an organic and supple line that recalls Art Nouveau with hints of Surrealism. Secondly, it is Mollino's versatility that makes his figure as a unique designer fascinating, spanning from furniture to architecture, motoring and skiing to aviation, in an inseparable combination of personal passions and work. Among the most important architectural projects signed by Mollino, stand out the ones made in the mountains, such as the Casa del Sole in Cervinia or the sledge lift in Sauze d'Oulx; in Turin, the Chamber of Commerce and the Teatro Regio.

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle


Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Alessandro Mendini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino