Tito Agnoli

Born in Peru to an Italian family, award-winning Tito Agnoli (Lima, 1931- Milan, 2012) was a particularly prolific designer from the 50s to the 70s, and his pieces are included in the permanent collection of the MoMA in New York. His encounter with industrial design was during his thirties, after an initial passion for painting that led him to move from Peru to Italy after the Second World War. After training with master Mario Sironi, Agnoli enrolled in the faculty of Architecture in 1949; after graduating in 1959, he started to work Gio Ponti and Carlo de Carli as their assistant. This activity was his springboard into the world of design: Agnoli established lasting collaborations with the major Italian brands such as Bonacina, Arflex, Poltrona Frau and Schiffini, without having a fixed base in a studio, but designing on-site, in close contact with technicians and company directors. His repertoire ranges from chairs, including the Korium series of armchairs and sofas for Matteo Grassi (1978), made of steel covered in leather and particularly eye-catching for its “floating” armrests, to the 387 floor lamp designed for Oluce, featuring the innovative "cornalux" light bulb. 

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle


Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Alessandro Mendini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino