Marcel Breuer

Considered one of the great fathers of the Bauhaus, Hungarian architect Marcel Breuer (Pécs, 1902 - New York, 1981) is one of the most influential designers of the 20th century, famous above all for the realization of the first and revolutionary tubular steel furnishings. The pieces he made with this material are legendary, and were conceived during his attendance of the Bauhaus school in Weimar, where he became the furniture laboratory teacher from '22 to '28; his most iconic model remains the "Wassily" (or "B3") chair in tubular steel and leather straps designed in 1925,  the same year in which Breuer designed the interiors of the Bauhaus headquarters in Dessau. His "Cesca" chair, made of tubular steel and Vienna straw inserts in 1928, is currently produced by Thonet under the name of "S32". In 1933, with the arrival of Nazism and the cessation of the Bauhaus activities, Breuer first emigrated to England, and in 1937 to the United States where, together with the founder of the Bauhaus Walter Gropius, he became a professor of architecture at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. Living in New York, in the 1950s and 1960s Breuer consolidated his activity as an architect on a global scale, a career which culminated in the design of brutalist buildings made of prefabricated concrete, including the Paris headquarters of Unesco (1953- 58), and the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York (now the Met Breuer), designed in 1966.

Designer items

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle

Nendo Design

Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Vladimir Kagan

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster

George Nelson

Paolo Venini