Norman Foster

Award-winning English architect and one of the great masters of contemporary architecture, Norman Foster (Manchester, 1935) graduated in 1961 from the School of Architecture and City Planning at the University of Manchester, obtaining a scholarship that led him to Yale, United States. Founded in 1967, Foster + Partners is today in tenth place in the ranking of the largest architectural firms in the world, with spectacular projects ranging from one of the most famous buildings on the London skyline, the skyscraper at 30 St Mary Axe, to Beijing Capital International Airport, up to the Millau viaduct in France. Foster has signed famous design projects also in the world of interiors, first of all the revolutionary and elegant Nomos table, created for Tecno and winner of the Compasso d'Oro award in 1987. A high-tech system that combines iconicity — the shape of the metal and aluminum bases is angular, and in the glass version the top rests on suction cups — and versatility: the table adapts to multiple uses, from a workstation to a classic dining table, effortlessly transitioning between home and office.

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle


Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster