Willy Rizzo

Glamouros and inspired by the geometries of the '30s, the furnishings made by Willy Rizzo (Naples, 1928 - Paris, 2013) represent the archetype of the '70s style. Known for their sophisticated materials, such as wood combined with brass and the use of lacquering, his pieces have conquered celebrities of all ages (from Coco Chanel, who owned one of his famous low circular tables, up to contemporary rock stars), and they continue to be highly sought-after by the international jet set. However, Rizzo's first love remained photography, to which he dedicated himself from a very young age since the '30s, after moving to Paris with his mother. Along with working for international agencies, he shot a series of reportages for Paris Match magazine, portraying the glamorous lives of actors and artists (such as Brigitte Bardot, Marilyn Monroe, Pablo Picasso, Salvador Dalì). Rizzo began designing furniture in the late '60s in Rome, where he moved after his marriage to actress Elsa Martinelli. However, towards the end of the '70s he returned to Paris, where until the 2000s he worked between design and photography and founded the Studio Willy Rizzo. Located at 12, rue de Verneuil, the studio is now run by his second wife Dominique Rizzo.

Designer items

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle

Nendo Design

Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Vladimir Kagan

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster

George Nelson

Paolo Venini