Eero Saarinen

A pioneer in the use of foam padding in furniture, Eero Saarinen (1910 -1961) was the great American business architect of the 50s. Finnish but American by adoption, he graduated from Yale in 1934, and continued his training at the Cranbrook Institute of Architecture and Design, where he became passionate about sculpture. The love for this discipline is reflected in the Space Age forms of its buildings, which found their maximum expression in masterpieces such as the TWA terminal at New York's JFK airport. His first critical recognition, in 1940, came to him for a piece of furniture: with Charles Eames, Saarinen won the first prize in the "Organic Design in Home Furnishings" competition, thanks to a chair designed together, the Tulip. This chair would later give its name to the iconic series of white reinforced fiberglass chairs, armchairs and dining tables designed by Saarinen and produced by Knoll in the 50s. Elegance, combined with efficiency, made these furnishings one of the milestones of engineering and construction technology of the time, simply because they were the achievement of the maximum result through the minimum of means. Known for his perfectionism, Saarinen was also the discoverer of some important designers with whom he established durable collaborations, such as Charles Eames and Robert Venturi.

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle


Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster