Paul Tuttle

Grown up in St. Louis, Missouri, but at home in Santa Barbara, California, Paul Tuttle (1918 - 2002) is considered one of the most eccentric designers of the 20th century. His unconventional training (he was rejected by the Art School Center in Los Angeles) takes place through direct experiences alongside designers such as Alvin Lustig, and architects such as Welton Beckett and Frank Lloyd Wright. In California, Tuttle became friends with the Eames, but unlike the duo, he opted for small production, mostly making unique pieces produced by external companies. A favourite with collectors, its elegant furnishings include a variety of seats designed for comfort and functionality, articulated around the combination of metal structures, leather and wood: among the most audacious are the Nonna Rocking Chair, and the Z and Y chairs. His first creations date back to the 1950s, when Tuttle rented an empty apartment in Los Angeles and, following the teachings of his cabinetmaker neighbour, began to manufacture furniture to furnish it: among these, one of his first tables was exhibited at the MoMa in New York in 1951, as part of the exhibition "Good design". From the 1950s onwards, Tuttle established collaborations with prestigious design brands, in particular with the German brand Strässle (from 1968 to the 1990s), from which his famous Chariot chaise longue in tubular chrome-plated steel and suede was born. From the '80s until the end of his career, he worked alongside the Californian craftsman Bud Tullis on the creation of unique pieces on commission. 

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle

Nendo Design

Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Vladimir Kagan

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster

George Nelson

Paolo Venini