Angelo Mangiarotti

Included among the founders of ADI (Association for Industrial Design), Milanese architect and designer Angelo Mangiarotti (Milan, 1921 - 2012), collaborated with the most prestigious design companies of his time: Artemide, Knoll , Cappellini, Skipper, just to name a few, and became creative director of Colle Cristalleria from 1989 to 1992. He moved to the United States in 1948 after graduating from the Polytechnic, tackling design in various fields such as construction, design and teaching, when he became Visiting Professor at the Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago. In the 1950s, Mangiarotti's pieces stood out for being among the first interlocking and jointless furnishings, initially produced in a series created with the architect Bruno Morassutti: tables, stools, benches and bookcases that combined functionality and decoration, easy to pack and assemble (as Swedish furniture used to be in those years). In the 1960s, the unmistakable sign of Mangiarotti became the cone-shaped base of his tables, recognizable by the pleasant contrast between the massive conical base and the round and thin top; a shape he re-proposed in many variations in the following years, as in the series of marble tables Eros (1970), or the Incas stone tables (1978).

Designer items

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle

Nendo Design

Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Vladimir Kagan

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster

George Nelson

Paolo Venini