Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Inventor of the “less is more” motto that enhances essentiality, German architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (Aachen, 1886 - Chicago, 1969), moved to Berlin at the age of 19. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts and worked in the studio of Peter Behrens, one of the masters of architecture of the time, collaborating with Walter Gropius and Le Corbusier, experiences that forged his architectural language, based on discipline and the rigor of forms. In 1929 he projected the German pavilion at the Barcelona Expo, furnishing it with his Barcelona armchair made of chromed steel and leather, inspired by the folding seats of ancient Egypt. Director of the Bauhaus from 1930 to 1932, due to the rise of Nazism, in the late 30s van der Rohe moved to the United States to Chicago; here he designed his first private residence, Farnsworth House, made entirely of glass walls. Glass was the basis element for numerous buildings he conceived in the last twenty years of his life, based on the simplicity of forms, such as the Seagram Building skyscraper in New York (1958), described as the ultimate International Style icon. "Less is more" has become an expression applied from architecture to industrial design, up to technology and fashion.

Meet the designers

Gio Ponti

Piero Fornasetti

Fratelli Castiglioni

Joe Colombo

Nanda Vigo

Ettore Sottsass

Marco Zanuso

Luigi Caccia Dominioni

Ico Parisi

Charles & Ray Eames

Gae Aulenti

Pietro Chiesa

Vico Magistretti

Giotto Stoppino

Tobia Scarpa

Carlo Nason

Marcello Cuneo

Vittorio Dassi

Paolo Buffa

Max Ingrand

Gastone Rinaldi

Pia Guidetti Crippa

Gaetano Pesce

Richard Sapper

Ingo Maurer

Gabriella Crespi

Paul McCobb

Paul Tuttle

Nendo Design

Alvaro Siza

Carl Jacob Jucker

Ernesto Basile

Sergio Mazza

Osvaldo Borsani

Oscar Torlasco

Le Corbusier

Willy Rizzo

Gaetano Sciolari

Carlo De Carli

Angelo Lelli

Gino Sarfatti

Marcel Breuer

Carlo Scarpa

Massimo & Lella Vignelli

Claudio Salocchi

Toni Zuccheri

Aldo Tura

Verner Panton

Giancarlo Piretti

Gianfranco Frattini

Guglielmo Ulrich

Franco Albini

Philippe Starck

Angelo Mangiarotti

Enzo Mari

Tito Agnoli

Kazuide Takahama

Eero Saarinen

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Carlo Ratti

Alessandro Mendini

Mario Bellini

Cleto Munari

Carlo Mollino

Bruno Munari

Hans J. Wegner

Vladimir Kagan

Studio BBPR

Giovanni Michelucci

Norman Foster

George Nelson

Paolo Venini